Las Vegas Magazine – September 2012

by sarahbarkerartistry

I had the great pleasure of working with Las Vegas Magazine for one of their September fashion issues.  For the looks, Creative Director, Erik Stein, told me that he wanted 5 very distinct, different looks on one model.  The model was going to be wearing dresses made out of shopping bags from 5 stores, Victoria’s Secret, Guess, Saks Fifth Avenue, Michael Kors and Ted Baker.  I did a bit of research before to nail down a signature look for each store and of course there were the obvious, the Victoria’s Secret sexy hair, the Guess red lip…

To create the Ted Baker cover look, I did a beautiful deep plum smoky eye and a pop of lime green in the water line with a beautiful red lip.  For the hair, all the hair was brushed to one side, leaving out front section and sculpted to create the waves in her hair.  The front section was pinned back in a bit of a asymmetrical victory roll.

For the Saks Fifth Avenue look, I went with a lightly contoured eye and a strong winged liner.  I decided on the pink lip once I saw the accessories for the outfit.  On the model’s hair, I did classic french twist, not too tight and overdone, just simple, classic with some movement.

The Victoria’s Secret look was probably my favorite.  I went with a more natural look, the eye having a subtle contour and top liner, rosy light pink cheeks and a pink nude lip.  I kept her hair loose and tousled with volume and movement.

Todd Hanshaw, our Accessories Stylist, wanted glasses on our model for the Michael Kors look, so I did a nude lip.  To show as much of her face, even with large glasses on, I did a deep side part on her hair.

Finally, on the Guess look, I did a signature red lip and taupe/ burnt orange smoky eye.  I had her hair very voluminous with lots of curl. 

I had some major must have products on this shoot.  I used Make Up For Ever HD Foundations.  OCC Lip Tars were perfect to help me create the perfect lip color for each look, my favorites are NSFW, Hush, Narcissus, Queen, Tone and Pennyroyal.  For the hair, considering the many look changes, I needed a great working spray that I could brush out and re-style and Paul Mitchell’s Worked Up spray was life saver.

Here are the pictures from the magazine. Thank you for reading!!! 🙂

ImageImageImageImage

 

Photography by Robert John Kley

Art Direction: Erik Stein

Dress Stylist: Jennifer Henry

Accessory Stylist: Todd Hanshaw

Hair and Makeup: Sarah Barker

Model: Taya Sopikova